KUSF 10.16.10 3-8 AM Defeat Sleep DJ Cactus

Cactus presents Defeat Sleep every Saturday morning from 3am-8am. The program began in 2000, and expanded to the current five-hour exoskeleton in 2003. The co-host is the esteemed DJ Bryan Chandler.
Defeat Sleep focuses on field recordings, experimental electronics, noise, drone, doom, ambient, sound collage, and so on.
Email Cactus at danielhintz64 (@) gmail.com

1st Hour

2nd Hour

3rd Hour

4th Hour

5th Hour

1. Kraftwerk
2. Plastikman
3. Roedelius
4. Penner and Muder
5. Jon Mueller
6. Sun City Girls
7. Max Richter
8. Bruce Haack

KUSF 10.16.10 Midnight-3 AM DJ Amper Dan

Time Warp

An eclectic warp through time, encompassing the best on and off the charts sounds. From the present to the far past and back again. Take the journey with us!

Producer, J.D. Smith
Hosts, JD Smith, Sneeze Limbo, The Owl, Jersey J.D., Bodacious Brenda, Kimbrulee, and Amper Dan.

1st Hour

2nd Hour

3rd Hour

Mister Loveless – June
John Lennon – Stand By Me
Matthew Sweet and Susanna Hoffs – And Your Bird Can Sing
Paul Weller – Instant Karma
The Trophy Fire – Hey Euphoria
Rogue Wave – Solitary Gun
I The Mighty – Streetlight’s On
The Hundred Days – So What
A B & The Sea – Care for Cell #44
The Aerosols – Would It Be So Bad?
Greg Ashley – Requiem Mass Part III
The Wrong Word – Everything is Different Now
The She’s – Wonder Band
The Downer Party – Taxidermy
The Love Me Nots – You Don’t Know A Thing About Me
Agent Ribbons – I’m Alright
French Miami – Multi-Caliber Guns
The Bruises – Wait For Me
My First Earthquake – Cool in the Cool Way
Excuses For Skipping – MJ
LoveLikeFire – Saint Martin
Geographer – Age of Consent
The Present Moment – Million To One
The Frail – Addicted
Fans of Jimmy Century – Go Sugar
Sentinel – All That’s Necessary
The Hot Toddies – Only with You
The Dollyrots – Rollercoaster
The Ettes – We Repel Each Other
The Love Dimension – Lighthouse in Your Mind
Or, The Whale – Threads
Big Eagle – Anywhere The Wind Blows
Birds & Batteries – Strange Kind of Mirror
She & Him _ I Should Have Known Better
The Soft White Sixties – I Am
Oona – Tore My heart
Persephone’s Bees – First We Take Manhattan
Polly Mackey & The Pleasure Principle – I Don’t Mind
Rykarda Parasol – Your Safety is My Concern
Fake Your Own Death – Invisible and Bulletproof
Ash Reiter – Paper Diamonds
John Lennon – Whatever Gets You Through The Night

KUSF 10.15.10 10-Midnight Friday Night Sessions

The Friday Night Session is hosted by San Francisco music addicts, DJs, writers, and bloggers: Andrew Jervis (Ubiquity Records), Mike Bee (Amoeba) and Tomas Palermo (http://forwardever.blogspot.com.) Since it's official inception in 1996 the show continues to present the most vibrant selection of electronic music on the San Francisco airwaves.
In addition to the full spectrum of electronic and dance music (house, hip hop, down tempo, dubstep, disco, soul ? if we like it we'll play it!) the hosts also draws on the links between now and future directions and more vintage sounds including jazz, rare groove, dub, Afrobeat, and funk.
The show often features exclusive unreleased cuts, DJ mixes, in-studio guests and ticket give-aways to the best local events.

1st Hour

2nd Hour

KUSF 10.15.10 The Menace's Attic DJ Dennis the Menace

The Menace’s Attic Episode #459 October 15th, 2010 “I’m At the Mill Valley Film Festival As Their Creative Director, So Once Again I’m Playing Music From Soundtracks Of Films That Are Most Certainly Not Playing At That Festival.”

OPENING SONG: Crash – The Primitives (RCA)
The Sound Of Music – Julie Andrews

Set #1 From “Billy Elliot To 24 Hour Party People”
Cosmic Dancer – T. Rex (Interscope)
Knock On Wood – Eddie Floyd (Stax)
She’s Lost Control – Joy Division (WMG)
Nowhere Man – Paul Westerberg (New Line)

Set #2 From “Gonzo To The Mack”
Weird And Twisted Nights – Gonzo (Sonys)
He Was Really Sayin’ Something – Bananarama (London)
Brother’s Gonna Work It Out – Willie Hutch (Motown)

Set #3 From Bond To St. Elmo
One Toke Over The Line – Brewer & Shipley (Kama Sutra)
Diamonds Are Forever – Shirley Bassey (United Artists)
St Elmo’s Fire – John Parr (Atlantic)

Set #4 From “Valley Girl To Animal House”
Eaten By The Monster of Love – Sparks (Atlantic)
Tossin’ and Turnin – Bobby Freeman (MCA) 2:30

CLOSING SONG: That’ll Do – Peter Gabriel (Geffen)

KUSF 10.15.10 7:30-8:30 PM Sol Da Brasil DJ Jorge Lima